COLD CASE

By Jean COLANERI Former Director of the Professional Organisations, both European and French, of the Chocolate trade.

Union Européenne 1 - We know that two sorts of chocolate can now coexist on the French market. A law dating from last July, applying a European line of policy from June 2000 (+), has in effect allowed a new type of chocolate to be made and sold. It consists of, as well as cocoa butter, certain other vegetable fats.

This has finally put an end to a long period of debate, strife and fisticuffs within the Union, during which several states and their respective public opinion have expressed themselves and have also been confronted by a vehemence that has rarely reached such proportions concerning the contents of a food product.

(+) Law 2003-702 of 29th July 2003 – JO of 1st August 2003, page 13146 Legal directive 2000/36 /CE of 23rd June 2000 of the European Parliament and Council JOCE L 197 of 3rd August 2000, page 19.

2 - Chocolate is the food of pleasure, creating a euphoria par excellence. But its composition, its production and its commercialisation create a host of problems that the past clarifies on this dossier, the difficulty of concluding it, the passionate nature of the discussions and the interest given to the question by the media. Let us remind ourselves of the context :

- Cocoa holds the second place, after grain crops, in the international commercial world of goods; imported mainly from developping countries, that is poor countries. It is one of the major elements in the economic relations between Europe and the Third World.

- The other two basic ingredients of chocolate, sugar and milk, are dependent on the common agricultural policy.

- The production of ingredients for the making of chocolate and of its finished assorted products is guaranteed by both multinationals, commercial giants, by large and small companies and by artisans in their boutiques. All of them make, at least they sell, the same product in the same marketplaces for consumers.

- The perception of chocolate is very different depending on the country of origin : in some countries it is just another consumer item, whereas in others, it is often considered as an offshoot of the national gastronomy.

- The Fifteen occupy first place in chocolate making : they buy more than half of the cocoa harvest and are, together, the greatest makers and exporters of chocolate in the whole world.

3 - The creation of the Common Market required the suppression not only of customs barriers but also of legal ones. And so, from the beginning of the 1960s, the Commission submitted to the member States a vast programme of harmonisation of the national legislations. In the agro-alimentary domain several hundred harmonised laws have been adopted up to now...including chocolate.

Chocolate became the object of a first directive in 1973. Well accepted at the time in most of its detail, this text had however left in suspension the request by the three new members of that period, Denmark, Ireland and the United Kingdom to be able to sell to their partners chocolate that contained vegetable fats, something that had been forbidden among the Six. The reply came... 27 years later, in 2000, in the form of a new directive that satisfied those who had made the request (whose number had quadrupled in the meantime), authorising vegetable fats throughout the Union.

Could it be any other way ?
Was it possible to forbid the use of vegetable fats in all the member States, including those that had been using them for many years, or to maintain two distinct markets, one that would be authorised and the other that would be forbidden, separated by insurmountable barriers ? To imagine it meant that one did not understand the basic rules of the Treaty of Rome and misunderstood the workings of the European institutions. It meant also that one was disregarding the evolution of power within the Union, more and more favourable to the authorising of vetetable fats because of the arrival of new members.

As one had come to expect, therefore, the Commission, in reopening the case in 1996, proposed the authorisation in the whole Union of the making and trading of chocolate, containing the requested vegetable fats. And, as was equally foreseeable, the Council of Ministers approved this by a large majority in 1999, by twelve votes for – one of which was France – and two against (Belgium and the Netherlands) and one abstention (Luxembourg). The European Parliament announced its decision shortly afterwards with the same approval by a large majority.

4 - Amid general surprise and without any warning, our country indeed gave its agreement. And that was so, even while for years the official position had been : « vegetable fats (MGV) shall not pass ! » Certainly, all resistance had become useless, because of the distribution of votes at the Council. All the same, this formal approval from a country that, more than any other, proclaims itself to be the defender of genuine food products and affirms that it is continually preoccupied with the misfortunes of the Third World, is both not easily comprehensible and only moderately honourable.

Questioned by a senator about this unexpected behaviour, the minister for European Affairs could not give any valid explanation.

5 - If France didn’t have a chance to carry off the prohibition, one would have hoped that it would at least obtain some measures that would strictly limit the use of vegetable fats. That was not the case. The list of fats that were retained is criticised by several qualified experts, and the absence of any reliable method of control in order to guarantee respect for the limit retained (5 % of the weight of the chocolate) is worrying.

As well as that and most importantly, the text does not allow for the fundamental right of the consumer to be fully and clearly informed about the substantial modification that has been made to a product that has always been known, since it does not require the mention of the presence of vegetable fats systematically beside the word « chocolate ». This indication can only be found ...on the back of the packet, in small letters beside the list of ingredients... Buyers, look carefully or don’t forget your glasses and think about returning the packets...

6 - The cocoa producing countries have the most to lose in this affair : less cocoa butter used obviously means less beans sold and the export of some tropical fats, which only have a limited use, will not bring any compensation, far from it. Moreover there will not be a regular appraisal by the Union of the impact of the law about vegetable fats on the economy, as had been asked for.

The chocolate making firms are obviously the winners, it has to be said. In reality, whether multinational or not, the makers have taken advantage of the chance of asking for, in all legality, the use of a basic ingredient that is much cheaper than the one that had only been used up to then. The law favored their interests. That is a fact, whether one likes it or not.

The industrial chocolate makers will be the winners for they will make most use of the opportunity offered by the new law. But, one can only hope that some will hesitate to tarnish their image with products that would not be « pure cocoa butter ».

The artisans have been shocked, notably in France but also among our Belgian and Italian neighbours, at the idea that there could apprear on the market chocolate of a poorer quality, launched on a grand scale by their alltime competitors, the industrialists. A reaction that was a good reminder of their place in the production of chocolate, because of the important role that they have, and above all because of the unique excellence of the products that they offer to the consumers.

These artisans, of whom many are unique in their field, place France in the top category of the quality of their chocolate, in particular in the domain of chocolate sweets, the touchstone of perfection. It is only because of them that she remains there. They have to, as in the past, use the best ingredients, the finest coverings, conceive of the most delicate and succulent centres ; and of course, continue to use only « pure cocoa butter ».

But, it would be good if now they could keep their energy for promoting their production in the best way possible with a sustained emphasis on the quality of their chocolates, rather than by a dispute about vegetable fats that will be invalid from now on and the effect of which might well damage the image of the product in general.

On the other hand these chocolate makers can look to the future without fear. Never has chocolate in all its forms been tasted, appreciated and aired in the media in France as it is today. This country is the only one where, every year, a salon, unrivalled in the world, is visited by millions and associations of tasters and other amateurs actively participate in promoting quality chocolates and those who produce them, both craftsmen and industrialists. Several wishes and one certainty by way of an epilogue :

Could the government make up for the wretched results of their past actions by informing the consumer about what the labeling of the new chocolate is all about. And also by deciding at long last to do away with this tax monstrosity which is the VAT of 19.6% levied on three quarters of chocolates (instead of 5.5% on all other food products).

Could Our-Lady of Competition urge the industrialists to still believe in the virtues of « Pure cocoa butter », irreplaceable in the major brands, and to limit as much as possible the use of vegetable fats in the others.

May the good craftsmen continue to progress in quality and inventiveness. May the consumers learn to choose well, by reading the labelling. In witness whereof, let us be certain that it will not be tomorrow, the eve of a time in this country when people will give up loving good chocolate and acquiring it !

Animated flag images by 3DFlags.com

AFFAIRE CLASSÉE

Par Jean COLANERI Ancien Directeur des Organisations Professionnelles,Européenne et Française, de la Chocolaterie

Union Européenne 1 - On le sait : deux types de chocolat peuvent maintenant coexister sur le marché français. Un décret de Juillet dernier, appliquant une directive européenne de Juin 2000 (+) a en effet admis la fabrication et la vente d'un nouveau chocolat comportant, en plus du beurre de cacao, certaines autres matières grasses végétales (MGV).

Ainsi a concrètement pris fin une longue période de débats, palabres et empoignades au sein de l'Union, durant laquelle plusieurs états et leurs opinions publiques se sont exprimés et affrontés avec une véhémence rarement atteinte à propos du contenu d'un produit alimentaire.

(+) Décret 2003-702 du 29 Juillet 2003 - JO du 1er Août 2003, page 13146
Directive 2000/36 /CE du 23 Juin 2000 du Parlement européen et du Conseil
JOCE L 197 du 3 Août 2000, page 19
.

2 - Le chocolat est aliment de plaisir, euphorisant par excellence. Mais sa composition, sa production et sa commercialisation forment un faisceau de problèmes qui font comprendre le temps passé sur le dossier, la difficulté à conclure, la nature passionnée des discussions et l'intérêt apporté par les médias à la question. Rappelons ce contexte.

- Le cacao tient la seconde place, après les céréales, dans le commerce international des denrées ; importé principalement de pays en développement, voire pauvres, c'est l'un des éléments majeurs des relations économiques de l'Europe avec le Tiers monde.

- Les deux autres composants de base du chocolat, le sucre et le lait, relèvent de la politique agricole commune.

- La production de demi-produits et de produits finis de chocolaterie est assurée à la fois par des multinationales, géants industriels, par des PME de tailles diverses et par des artisans qui tiennent boutique. Tous fabriquent, en tout cas vendent, le même produit sur les mêmes marchés de consommation.

- La perception du chocolat est fort différente selon les pays : chez les uns, c'est un produit de consommation courante alors que, chez d' autres, il est souvent considéré comme un fleuron de la gastronomie nationale.- Les Quinze occupent en chocolaterie la première place : ils achètent plus de la moitié de la récolte de cacao et sont, ensemble, les plus grands fabricants et exportateurs de chocolat dans le monde.

3 - La création du Marché Commun exigeait la suppression des obstacles non seulement douaniers mais également réglementaires. Aussi, dès le début des années soixante, la Commission a-t-elle soumis à l'approbation des Etats membres un vaste programme d'harmonisation des législations nationales. Dans le domaine agroalimentaire, plusieurs centaines de réglementations unifiées ont été adoptées à ce jour... dont celle du chocolat.

Le chocolat a fait l'objet d' une première directive en 1973. Bien accepté à l'époque dans la plupart de ses dispositions, ce texte avait cependant laissé en suspens la demande des trois nouveaux membres d'alors, Danemark, Irlande et Royaume-Uni de pouvoir vendre chez leurs partenaires du chocolat comportant des MGV, usage interdit chez les Six. Le réponse est venue... 27 ans plus tard, en 2000, sous la forme d'une nouvelle directive qui a donné satisfaction aux demandeurs (dont le nombre avait entre temps quadruplé) en autorisant les MGV dans l'ensemble de l'Union.

Pouvait-il en être autrement ?
Etait-il possible soit d'interdire l'emploi des MGV dans tous les Etats membres, y compris dans ceux qui en faisaient usage depuis des décennies, soit de maintenir deux marchés distincts, l'un où on l'autorise, l'autre où l'on interdit, séparés par des barrières infranchissables ? L'imaginer, c'était ignorer les règles fondamentales du Traité de Rome et méconnaître le fonctionnement des institutions européennes. C'était aussi négliger l'évolution du rapport de forces au sein de l'Union, de plus en plus favorable à l'autorisation des MGV par suite de l'arrivée de nouveaux membres.

Comme il fallait donc s'y attendre la Commission, en rouvrant le dossier en 1996, a proposé d'autoriser dans toute l'Union la fabrication et le commerce du chocolat contenant les matières grasses demandées. Et, comme cela était également prévisible, le Conseil des Ministres a largement approuvé en 1999 cette position, par douze voix pour - dont celle de la France - deux contre (Belgique et Pays-Bas) et une abstention (Luxembourg). Le Parlement européen s'est prononcé peu après dans le même sens à une large majorité.

4 - À la surprise générale, et sans crier gare, notre pays a donc donné son accord. Et cela, alors que, pendant des années, le discours officiel avait été : « les MGV ne passeront pas ! » Certes, toute résistance était devenue vaine, compte-tenu de la répartition des voix au Conseil. Tout de même, cette approbation formelle de la part d'un pays qui, plus que tout autre, se proclame défenseur de l' authenticité des aliments et affirme être sans cesse préoccupé des malheurs du tiers-monde, est à la fois peu compréhensible et modérément honorable.

Interrogé par un sénateur sur ce comportement inattendu, le ministre des Affaires européennes de l'époque n'en a donné aucune explication valable.

5 - Si la France n'avait aucune chance de l'emporter sur le fond, on pouvait au moins espérer qu'elle obtiendrait des mesures encadrant strictement l'usage des MGV. Cela n'a pas été le cas. La liste des graisses retenues est critiquée par plusieurs experts qualifiés, et l'absence de méthode de contrôle fiable pour garantir le respect de la limite retenue (5 % du poids de chocolat) est inquiétante.

En outre et surtout, le texte ne tient pas compte de l'intérêt fondamental du consommateur à être pleinement et clairement informé de la modification substantielle apportée à un produit connu depuis toujours, puisqu'il n'exige pas que la présence de MGV soit systématiquement mentionnée à côté du mot « chocolat ». On ne trouvera cette indication qu'... .au dos de l'emballage, en petits caractères à côté de la liste des ingrédients... Acheteurs, ayez de bons yeux ou n'oubliez pas vos lunettes et pensez à retourner les paquets...

6 - Les pays producteurs de cacao sont les grands perdants dans l'affaire : moins de beurre de cacao utilisé signifie forcément moins de fèves vendues et les exportations de quelques graisses tropicales, où ils n'ont d'ailleurs qu'une place limitée, ne feront pas compensation, loin de là. De plus, il n'y aura pas de constat régulier par l'Union de l'impact de la directive sur l'économie des PVD, comme ceux-ci l'avaient réclamé.

Les sociétés chocolatières sont évidemment gagnantes, c'est le cas de le dire. En réalité, multinationales ou pas, les fabricants ont usé de la possibilité de demander, en toute légalité, l'emploi d'une matière première moins chère que celle utilisée seule jusqu'alors. Le droit favorisait leurs intérêts. Cela est un fait, qu'on le veuille ou non.

Seront gagnants les chocolatiers industriels qui mettront pleinement à profit la possibilité offerte par la nouvelle directive. Mais, on peut espérer que certains hésiteront à porter atteinte à leur image avec des produits qui ne seraient pas « pur beurre de cacao ».

Les artisans se sont vivement émus, notamment en France, mais aussi chez nos voisins belges et italiens, à l'idée que pourrait apparaître sur le marché un chocolat de moindre qualité, lancé à grande échelle par leurs concurrents de toujours, les industriels. Réaction qui a eu pour mérite de rappeler leur place dans la production de chocolat, par le rôle non négligeable qu'ils y tiennent, et avant tout par l'excellence unique des produits qu'ils offrent aux consommateurs.

Ces artisans, dont beaucoup sont des hommes de métiers incomparables, placent la France au premier rang de la qualité chocolatière, en particulier dans le domaine des bonbons de chocolat, pierre de touche de la perfection. Ils ne tient qu'à eux qu'elle y reste. Il leur faudra, comme par le passé, utiliser les meilleurs ingrédients, les plus fines couvertures et concevoir les fourrages les plus délicats et les plus savoureux ; et, bien sur, continuer à n'utiliser que « pur beurre de cacao ».

Mais, il serait bon qu'ils réservent maintenant leur énergie à valoriser au mieux leur production par une promotion soutenue de la qualité de leurs chocolats, plutôt que par une contestation désormais inopérante des MGV, dont l'effet risque bien de nuire à l'image du produit en général.

D'ailleurs, les artisans peuvent regarder l'avenir sans crainte. Jamais le chocolat sous toutes ses formes n'a été, en France, dégusté, apprécié et médiatisé comme aujourd'hui. Ce pays est le seul où, tous les ans, un salon sans rival dans le monde est fréquenté par des milliers de visiteurs et où des associations de croqueurs ou autres amateurs participent activement à la promotion des chocolats de qualité et de ceux qui les produisent, artisans et industriels. Quelques vœux et une certitude, en guise d'épilogue :

Que les pouvoirs publics compensent les piètres résultats de leur action passée en informant les consommateurs sur ce qu'est réellement l'étiquetage du nouveau chocolat. Mais aussi, en se décidant, enfin, à supprimer cette monstruosité fiscale qu'est la TVA à 19,6 % perçue sur les trois quarts des chocolats (au lieu des 5,5 % pour tous les autres produits alimentaires).

Que Notre-Dame de la Concurrence incitent les industriels à croire toujours aux vertus du « Pur beurre de cacao », irremplaçable dans les grands produits à marque, et à limiter au maximum l'usage des MGV dans les autres.

Que les bons artisans continuent à progresser en qualité et en inventivité.
Que les consommateurs apprennent à bien choisir, en lisant les étiquetages.
En foi de quoi, soyons certains que ce n'est pas demain la veille que, dans ce pays, on cessera d'aimer le bon chocolat et d'en avoir !

Animated flag images by 3DFlags.com